FINANCE AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE 17 MAY 2023

NEWHILLS ADDITIONAL PRIMARY SCHOOL PROVISION - RES/23/144

With reference to article 14 of the minute of meeting of the Education Operational Delivery Committee of 8 September 2022, the Committee had before it a report by the Director of Resources which provided details of the preferred design option for the new school at Newhills.

The report recommended:-

that the Committee -

- (a) note and endorse the preferred design option which will be an exemplar school for net zero and green credentials;
- (b) instruct the Chief Officer Corporate Landlord to report back to a future meeting of the Finance and Resources Committee in 2024 with the Full Business Case; and
- (c) refer this report for noting to the Education and Childrens Services Committee in July 2023.

The Convener, seconded by Councillor Greig, moved:that the Committee approve the recommendations contained within the report.

Councillor Crockett, seconded by Councillor Macdonald moved as an amendment:that the Committee:-

- (1) congratulate the current administration for opening two new schools in Milltimber and Countesswells built by the previous administration, noting that Torry and Tillydrone will soon be added to the list of new schools commissioned and built by the Labour-led administration;
- (2) approve recommendations (b) and (c);
- (3) note the expected capital costs for this project [exempt information redacted under Schedule 7A, paragraph 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 relating to the Proposed Expenditure on Contracts];
- (4) note the report highlights that the estimated energy running costs are indicating a possible further 10.5% reduction under option 3, despite the claim that the preferred option (option 2) is for an exemplar school for net zero and green credentials; and
- (5) agree that the Finance and Resources Committee requires strong evidence of the net zero and green credentials outlined in this report to be detailed within the Full Business Case in 2024.

On a division, there voted:- <u>for the motion</u> (10) – the Convener, the Vice Convener and Councillors Fairfull, Farquhar, Greig, Hutchison, Massey, Nicoll, Radley and van Sweeden; <u>for the amendment</u> (3) – Councillors Crockett, Macdonald and Watson.

The Committee resolved:-

to adopt the motion.